Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Mauritius Museums Council (Under the aegis of the Ministry of Arts and Culture)

Historical Background

The Sookdeo Bissoondoyal Memorial Museum is located on the main road in the village of Tyack, Rivière des Anguilles. It is found in the house where Sookdeo Bissoondoyal was born. This simple building is basically rectangular, made of stone walls and covered with corrugated iron sheets. The Sookdeo Bissoondoyal Memorial Museum was inaugurated by Sir Anerood Jugnauth, then Prime Minister in the presence of Sir Veerasamy Ringadoo, Governor General and Armoogum Parsuramen, Minister of Education, Arts and Culture on 3 April 1987.
The mission of the Sookdeo Bissoondoyal Memorial Museum is to perpetuate the memory of the person after whom it has been named. It informs the public about the life and work of Sookdeo Bissoondoyal as a great leader who contributed towards the independence of Mauritius and the education of the poor, especially the Indo-Mauritian.
Sookdeo Bissoondoyal was born on 25 December 1908 at Tyack, Rivière des Anguilles. He acquired his primary education at the Young Men's Hindu Aided Primary School in Port Louis. After passing his Teacher's Examination, he worked as Primary School Teacher from 1923 to 1945. In 1946, he became active in the political field and on 10 August 1948 Sookdeo Bissoondoyal was elected to the Legislative Council in the constituency of Grand Port/Savanne. On 13 April 1958 he founded a political party, the Independent Forward Bloc. Sookdeo Bissoondoyal was appointed Minister of Local Government and of Cooperative Movement. In 1965, he attended the Constitutional Conference in London leading towards the independence of Mauritius in 1968. He joined the Independence Party which won the general elections in 1967. He became Minister of Cooperatives. He resigned from the Council of Ministers on 21 March 1969 due to a disagreement on some issues with the Prime Minister, Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam and became the Leader of the Opposition. In 1976, he stood for the general elections but was not elected. On 18 August 1977 he died at the age of 68.

​ ​Browse gallery of items